Honoring Officers Killed in 2009

Jailer Thomas Carroll

Goodhue County Sheriff's Department, MN

EOW: Tuesday, March 10, 2009

Cause: Heart attack

Lieutenant Gerald Rex

New York City Police Department, NY

EOW: Monday, March 30, 2009

Cause: 9/11 related illness

Border Patrol Agent Cruz C. McGuire

United States Department of Homeland Security - Customs and Border Protection - United States Border Patrol, US

EOW: Thursday, May 21, 2009

Cause: Heart attack

Detective Corey J. Diaz

New York City Police Department, NY

EOW: Wednesday, October 7, 2009

Cause: 9/11 related illness

Special Agent Chad L. Michael

United States Department of Justice - Drug Enforcement Administration, US

EOW: Monday, October 26, 2009

Cause: Aircraft accident

Special Agent Michael E. Weston

United States Department of Justice - Drug Enforcement Administration, US

EOW: Monday, October 26, 2009

Cause: Aircraft accident

Special Agent Laurie J. Fournier

United States Department of Justice - Federal Bureau of Investigation, US

EOW: Saturday, December 26, 2009

Cause: 9/11 related illness


K9 Ado

Sacramento County Sheriff's Department, CA

EOW: Sunday, January 18, 2009

Cause: Struck by vehicle

K9 Devil

Norfolk Southern Railroad Police Department, RR

EOW: Tuesday, March 31, 2009

Cause: Struck by train

K9 L.E.

United States Department of Justice - Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives, US

EOW: Sunday, May 10, 2009

Cause: Animal related

K9 Shiloh

Kentucky Department of Fish and Wildlife Resources, KY

EOW: Sunday, June 7, 2009

Cause: Drowned

K9 Poncho

Panama City Beach Police Department, FL

EOW: Friday, July 10, 2009

Cause: Unidentified

K9 Nitro

Winfield Police Department, TX

EOW: Friday, July 10, 2009

Cause: Struck by vehicle

K9 Niko

San Joaquin County Sheriff's Office, CA

EOW: Thursday, July 23, 2009

Cause: Gunfire

K9 Gunner

Zephyrhills Police Department, FL

EOW: Thursday, August 6, 2009

Cause: Struck by vehicle

K9 Kimbo

Plantation Police Department, FL

EOW: Wednesday, September 23, 2009

Cause: Duty related illness

K9 Philos

Baton Rouge Police Department, LA

EOW: Friday, October 16, 2009

Cause: Vehicular assault

K9 Freddy

United States Department of Justice - Federal Bureau of Investigation, US

EOW: Wednesday, October 28, 2009

Cause: Gunfire

K9 Chase

Minneapolis Police Department, MN

EOW: Monday, November 30, 2009

Cause: Fall

K9 Billy

Alameda Police Department, CA

EOW: Thursday, December 17, 2009

Cause: Gunfire

K9 Rocky

Anoka County Sheriff's Office, MN

EOW: Wednesday, December 30, 2009

Cause: Gunfire