Honoring Officers Killed in 2003

Supervisor Stanley A. Wiley

Texas Department of Criminal Justice - Correctional Institutions Division, TX

EOW: Wednesday, January 29, 2003

Cause: Stabbed

Enforcement Agent Lorenzo Roberto Gomez

United States Department of Homeland Security - Immigration and Customs Enforcement - Office of Enforcement and Removal Operations, US

EOW: Saturday, November 8, 2003

Cause: Training accident

Border Patrol Agent James Paul Epling

United States Department of Homeland Security - Customs and Border Protection - United States Border Patrol, US

EOW: Tuesday, December 16, 2003

Cause: Drowned


K9 Urk

San Diego County Sheriff's Department, CA

EOW: Saturday, January 18, 2003

Cause: Gunfire

K9 Bryson

Cattaraugus County Sheriff's Office, NY

EOW: Friday, January 24, 2003

Cause: Automobile crash

K9 Ikon

Everett Police Department, WA

EOW: Tuesday, March 25, 2003

Cause: Struck by vehicle

K9 Alko

Lee County Sheriff's Office, FL

EOW: Sunday, April 20, 2003

Cause: Stabbed

K9 Faro

Norfolk Police Department, VA

EOW: Friday, August 22, 2003

Cause: Gunfire

K9 Marko

Los Angeles County Sheriff's Department, CA

EOW: Sunday, August 24, 2003

Cause: Gunfire (Inadvertent)

K9 Nero

Sacramento County Sheriff's Department, CA

EOW: Saturday, December 27, 2003

Cause: Automobile crash