Honoring Officers Killed in 2002

Border Patrol Agent Eloy Hernandez

United States Department of Justice - Immigration and Naturalization Service - United States Border Patrol, US

EOW: Wednesday, January 16, 2002

Cause: Automobile crash

Game Warden Jimmy Dean Hutto

Alabama Department of Conservation and Natural Resources - Wildlife and Freshwater Fisheries, AL

EOW: Monday, March 25, 2002

Cause: Gunfire

Officer John Pedro

California Highway Patrol, CA

EOW: Monday, June 3, 2002

Cause: Automobile crash

Officer Hakim Azim Farthing

United States Department of the Interior - United States Park Police, US

EOW: Saturday, August 10, 2002

Cause: Vehicular assault

Officer Michael Lee Staples

United States Department of Agriculture - Forest Service Law Enforcement and Investigations, US

EOW: Wednesday, September 4, 2002

Cause: Automobile crash

Senior Patrol Agent Catherine Mary Hill

United States Department of Justice - Immigration and Naturalization Service - United States Border Patrol, US

EOW: Friday, October 25, 2002

Cause: Automobile crash


K9 Jambo

San Leandro Police Department, CA

EOW: Friday, February 8, 2002

Cause: Assault

K9 Rudy

Oxnard Police Department, CA

EOW: Friday, April 19, 2002

Cause: Stabbed

K9 Fax

Lake County Sheriff's Department, IN

EOW: Tuesday, April 23, 2002

Cause: Animal related

K9 Mark

Osceola County Sheriff's Office, FL

EOW: Sunday, May 19, 2002

Cause: Struck by vehicle

K9 Woodrow

Philadelphia Police Department, PA

EOW: Friday, May 24, 2002

Cause: Heat exhaustion

K9 Rik

Bonneville County Sheriff's Office, ID

EOW: Wednesday, June 5, 2002

Cause: Gunfire