Honoring Officers Killed in 1989

Special Agent Mary Ellen Monaghan

United States Department of the Interior - Fish and Wildlife Service - Office of Law Enforcement, US

EOW: Monday, January 9, 1989

Cause: Struck by vehicle

Officer Brent K. Jacobson

United States Department of Agriculture - Forest Service Law Enforcement and Investigations, US

EOW: Thursday, January 12, 1989

Cause: Gunfire

Sergeant Thomas F. Sewell

Southeastern Pennsylvania Transportation Authority Police Department, PA

EOW: Sunday, March 12, 1989

Cause: Stabbed

Special Agent Rickie C. Finley

United States Department of Justice - Drug Enforcement Administration, US

EOW: Saturday, May 20, 1989

Cause: Aircraft accident

Trooper Ralph George Zerda

Texas Department of Public Safety - Texas Highway Patrol, TX

EOW: Sunday, May 21, 1989

Cause: Vehicular assault

Sergeant James Kidd

Clarke County Sheriff's Department, AL

EOW: Saturday, May 27, 1989

Cause: Automobile crash

Trooper Tommie Earl Owens

Mississippi Department of Public Safety - Mississippi Highway Patrol, MS

EOW: Friday, July 28, 1989

Cause: Struck by train

Officer Hugo Olazar

California Highway Patrol, CA

EOW: Saturday, September 2, 1989

Cause: Vehicular assault

Border Patrol Agent Keith Connelly

United States Department of Justice - Immigration and Naturalization Service - United States Border Patrol, US

EOW: Wednesday, September 6, 1989

Cause: Gunfire

Special Agent Howard R. Stuart-Houston

United States Department of the Treasury - Internal Revenue Service - Criminal Investigation, US

EOW: Thursday, September 14, 1989

Cause: Automobile crash

Agent Robert Henry McLeod

Mississippi Department of Public Safety - Bureau of Narcotics, MS

EOW: Saturday, September 23, 1989

Cause: Automobile crash

Sergeant John A. Dauway

New York State Office of Court Administration, NY

EOW: Sunday, October 1, 1989

Cause: Accidental

Pilot George Reyes Saenz

United States Department of the Treasury - United States Customs Service, US

EOW: Thursday, November 2, 1989

Cause: Aircraft accident

Patrol Agent John Donald Keenan

United States Department of Justice - Immigration and Naturalization Service - United States Border Patrol, US

EOW: Monday, November 27, 1989

Cause: Vehicular assault

Agent Spencer Glenn Beckley

Mississippi Department of Public Safety - Bureau of Narcotics, MS

EOW: Saturday, December 23, 1989

Cause: Automobile crash


K9 Liberty

Los Angeles Police Department, CA

EOW: Wednesday, March 22, 1989

Cause: Gunfire

K9 Zeke

Tacoma Police Department, WA

EOW: Monday, July 31, 1989

Cause: Stabbed

K9 Marko

Los Angeles Police Department, CA

EOW: Thursday, August 24, 1989

Cause: Stabbed