Honoring K9s Killed in 2023

2023 Honor Roll of K9s

Search by Year

Total Deaths by Month

  • February 4
  • March 1
  • April 1
  • May 2
  • June 4
  • July 2
  • August 1
  • September 2
  • October 4
  • November 3
  • December 1

Total Deaths by Gender

  • Male 25
  • Female 0

Statistics

  • Average age 5
  • Average tour of duty 3 years, 5 months

K9 Graffit

Jefferson County Sheriff's Office, CO

EOW: Monday, February 13, 2023

Cause: Gunfire

K9 Champ

Kansas City Police Department, MO

EOW: Wednesday, February 15, 2023

Cause: Automobile crash

K9 Fredy

United States Department of Homeland Security - Customs and Border Protection - Office of Field Operations, US

EOW: Wednesday, February 15, 2023

Cause: Duty related illness

K9 Duke

San Joaquin County Sheriff's Office, CA

EOW: Sunday, February 19, 2023

Cause: Stabbed

K9 Lenin

Baytown Police Department, TX

EOW: Thursday, March 9, 2023

Cause: Animal related

K9 Rudy

Riverside County Sheriff's Department, CA

EOW: Friday, April 14, 2023

Cause: Gunfire

K9 Hudson

Kane County Sheriff's Office, IL

EOW: Wednesday, May 24, 2023

Cause: Gunfire

K9 Santos

Wake County Sheriff's Office, NC

EOW: Friday, May 26, 2023

Cause: Gunfire (Inadvertent)

K9 Barrett

Montville Police Department, CT

EOW: Thursday, June 1, 2023

Cause: Assault

K9 Chase

Cobb County Police Department, GA

EOW: Tuesday, June 6, 2023

Cause: Heatstroke

K9 Aron

Houston Police Department, TX

EOW: Monday, June 12, 2023

Cause: Heatstroke

K9 Harrie

Shreveport Police Department, LA

EOW: Saturday, June 24, 2023

Cause: Heatstroke

K9 Kuno

Forest Heights Police Department, MD

EOW: Sunday, July 2, 2023

Cause: Heatstroke

K9 Falco

Gary Police Department, IN

EOW: Thursday, July 13, 2023

Cause: Gunfire

K9 Sir

San Diego Police Department, CA

EOW: Wednesday, August 2, 2023

Cause: Gunfire

K9 Waro

Clayton County Police Department, GA

EOW: Saturday, September 2, 2023

Cause: Gunfire

K9 Rico

South Carolina Law Enforcement Division, SC

EOW: Thursday, September 28, 2023

Cause: Gunfire

K9 Deebo

Harris County Sheriff's Office, GA

EOW: Sunday, October 1, 2023

Cause: Duty related illness

K9 Fredy

Orange County Sheriff's Office, FL

EOW: Monday, October 16, 2023

Cause: Automobile crash

K9 Rio

Georgia Department of Natural Resources, GA

EOW: Thursday, October 19, 2023

Cause: Heart attack

K9 Kenzo

Pima County Sheriff's Department, AZ

EOW: Friday, October 27, 2023

Cause: Assault

K9 Fury

Franklin Police Department, OH

EOW: Saturday, November 11, 2023

Cause: Vehicular assault

K9 Bane

Sedgwick County Sheriff's Office, KS

EOW: Thursday, November 16, 2023

Cause: Assault

K9 Max

South Fulton Police Department, GA

EOW: Friday, November 17, 2023

Cause: Gunfire

K9 Broko

Connecticut State Police, CT

EOW: Thursday, December 21, 2023

Cause: Gunfire