Honoring K9s Killed in 2022

2022 Honor Roll of K9s

Search by Year

Total Deaths by Month

  • January 2
  • February 2
  • March 2
  • April 2
  • May 1
  • June 5
  • July 1
  • August 4
  • September 1

Total Deaths by Gender

  • Male 17
  • Female 3

Statistics

  • Average age 5
  • Average tour of duty 3 years, 9 months

K9 Beni

Heflin Police Department, AL

EOW: Wednesday, January 5, 2022

Cause: Struck by vehicle

K9 Jedi

Seattle Police Department, WA

EOW: Wednesday, January 5, 2022

Cause: Stabbed

K9 Nitro II

York County Sheriff's Department, NE

EOW: Tuesday, February 8, 2022

Cause: Vehicular assault

K9 Maya

West Jordan Police Department, UT

EOW: Thursday, February 17, 2022

Cause: Gunfire

K9 Ciro

Humphreys County Sheriff's Office, TN

EOW: Thursday, March 3, 2022

Cause: Fire

K9 Dash

Shepherdsville Police Department, KY

EOW: Wednesday, March 9, 2022

Cause: Gunfire

K9 Major

Franklin County Sheriff's Office, NC

EOW: Sunday, April 10, 2022

Cause: Gunfire

K9 Jinx

El Paso County Sheriff's Office, CO

EOW: Monday, April 11, 2022

Cause: Gunfire

K9 Mina

United States Department of Homeland Security - Customs and Border Protection - United States Border Patrol, US

EOW: Monday, May 2, 2022

Cause: Animal related

K9 Drago

Columbia County Sheriff's Office, FL

EOW: Wednesday, June 15, 2022

Cause: Heatstroke

K9 Exo

Pascagoula Police Department, MS

EOW: Thursday, June 23, 2022

Cause: Gunfire

K9 Odin

Virginia State Police, VA

EOW: Sunday, June 26, 2022

Cause: Fire

K9 Cannon

Fountain Valley Police Department, CA

EOW: Tuesday, June 28, 2022

Cause: Heatstroke

K9 Drago

Floyd County Sheriff's Office, KY

EOW: Thursday, June 30, 2022

Cause: Gunfire

K9 Frankie

Massachusetts State Police, MA

EOW: Tuesday, July 26, 2022

Cause: Gunfire

K9 Max

Lake Wales Police Department, FL

EOW: Wednesday, August 3, 2022

Cause: Gunfire

K9 Blue

Niceville Police Department, FL

EOW: Sunday, August 7, 2022

Cause: Automobile crash

K9 Hannes

Kern County Sheriff's Office, CA

EOW: Thursday, August 18, 2022

Cause: Heatstroke

K9 Axel

Charleston Police Department, WV

EOW: Saturday, August 27, 2022

Cause: Gunfire

K9 Rocket

Metropolitan Police Department, DC

EOW: Monday, September 19, 2022

Cause: Heatstroke