Honoring Officers Killed in 2013

Lieutenant Osvaldo Albarati

United States Department of Justice - Federal Bureau of Prisons, US

EOW: Tuesday, February 26, 2013

Cause: Gunfire

Sergeant Gilbert Cortez

California Department of Corrections and Rehabilitation, CA

EOW: Monday, March 25, 2013

Cause: Automobile crash

Sheriff Eugene Crum

Mingo County Sheriff's Office, WV

EOW: Wednesday, April 3, 2013

Cause: Gunfire

Sergeant Sheryl A. Pierce

South Londonderry Township Police Department, PA

EOW: Saturday, September 14, 2013

Cause: Duty related illness

Detective Sergeant Frank Lema

United States Department of Defense - Naval Station Newport Police Department, US

EOW: Thursday, September 26, 2013

Cause: Struck by vehicle

Detective Steven Hom

New York City Police Department, NY

EOW: Saturday, October 19, 2013

Cause: 9/11 related illness

Lieutenant Brian J. Feldt

United States Department of Justice - Federal Bureau of Prisons, US

EOW: Monday, December 23, 2013

Cause: Duty related illness

Officer Darrell Jean Windhaus

United States Department of Homeland Security - Customs and Border Protection - Office of Field Operations, US

EOW: Sunday, December 29, 2013

Cause: Heart attack


K9 Maxo

United States Department of Homeland Security - United States Secret Service Uniformed Division, US

EOW: Saturday, January 26, 2013

Cause: Fall

K9 Koda

Leon County Sheriff's Office, FL

EOW: Thursday, January 31, 2013

Cause: Gunfire

K9 Kody

St. Paul Police Department, MN

EOW: Tuesday, February 12, 2013

Cause: Stabbed

K9 Ape

United States Department of Justice - Federal Bureau of Investigation, US

EOW: Thursday, March 14, 2013

Cause: Gunfire

K9 Mattie

California Department of Corrections and Rehabilitation, CA

EOW: Monday, March 25, 2013

Cause: Automobile crash

K9 Rocky

New Canaan Police Department, CT

EOW: Sunday, April 7, 2013

Cause: Asphyxiation

K9 Roscoe

Texas Department of Criminal Justice, TX

EOW: Wednesday, May 1, 2013

Cause: Struck by vehicle

K9 Cooper

Aiken County Sheriff's Office, SC

EOW: Friday, June 7, 2013

Cause: Heat exhaustion

K9 Spartacus

Woodstock Police Department, GA

EOW: Monday, June 17, 2013

Cause: Heat exhaustion

K9 Shadow

Hanahan Police Department, SC

EOW: Tuesday, June 18, 2013

Cause: Training accident

K9 Ronin

Glendale Police Department, AZ

EOW: Thursday, June 20, 2013

Cause: Gunfire

K9 Kilo

Indiana State Police, IN

EOW: Monday, June 24, 2013

Cause: Gunfire

K9 Sani

United States Department of Homeland Security - Customs and Border Protection - United States Border Patrol, US

EOW: Wednesday, July 17, 2013

Cause: Heat exhaustion

K9 Gus

Florida Fish and Wildlife Conservation Commission, FL

EOW: Thursday, August 1, 2013

Cause: Duty related illness

K9 Kali

Peru Police Department, IL

EOW: Saturday, August 3, 2013

Cause: Automobile crash

K9 Max

Miami Gardens Police Department, FL

EOW: Friday, September 13, 2013

Cause: Accidental

K9 Draco

Pontiac Police Department, IL

EOW: Wednesday, October 30, 2013

Cause: Automobile crash

K9 Maco

Dinwiddie County Sheriff's Office, VA

EOW: Friday, November 1, 2013

Cause: Struck by vehicle