Honoring Officers Killed in 2011

Park Ranger Christopher Nickel

United States Department of the Interior - National Park Service, US

EOW: Saturday, January 29, 2011

Cause: Duty related illness

Special Agent Jaime Jorge Zapata

United States Department of Homeland Security - Immigration and Customs Enforcement - Homeland Security Investigations, US

EOW: Tuesday, February 15, 2011

Cause: Gunfire

Park Ranger Julie Ann Weir

United States Department of the Interior - National Park Service, US

EOW: Thursday, February 24, 2011

Cause: Automobile crash

Border Patrol Agent Eduardo Rojas, Jr.

United States Department of Homeland Security - Customs and Border Protection - United States Border Patrol, US

EOW: Thursday, May 12, 2011

Cause: Struck by train

Border Patrol Agent Hector R. Clark

United States Department of Homeland Security - Customs and Border Protection - United States Border Patrol, US

EOW: Thursday, May 12, 2011

Cause: Struck by train

Captain Barry Galfano

New York City Police Department, NY

EOW: Sunday, June 26, 2011

Cause: 9/11 related illness

Detective Edwin Ortiz

New York City Police Department, NY

EOW: Monday, July 4, 2011

Cause: 9/11 related illness

Corporal Kevin Lee Aigner

Travis County Constable's Office - Precinct 2, TX

EOW: Saturday, September 10, 2011

Cause: Duty related illness

Sergeant Michael Andrew Boehm

United States Department of the Interior - United States Park Police, US

EOW: Friday, December 16, 2011

Cause: Heart attack


K9 Kane

Clark County Sheriff's Department, WA

EOW: Sunday, April 10, 2011

Cause: Stabbed

K9 Ike

Palm Springs Police Department, CA

EOW: Sunday, April 17, 2011

Cause: Gunfire

K9 Bungee

New Albany Police Department, OH

EOW: Wednesday, May 25, 2011

Cause: Struck by vehicle

K9 Chico

New Castle Police Department, PA

EOW: Saturday, June 4, 2011

Cause: Heat exhaustion

K9 Reed

Missouri State Highway Patrol, MO

EOW: Monday, August 1, 2011

Cause: Drowned

K9 Hatos

St. Martin Parish Sheriff's Office, LA

EOW: Saturday, August 6, 2011

Cause: Heat exhaustion

K9 Knight

Fayette County Sheriff's Office, TX

EOW: Monday, August 8, 2011

Cause: Heat exhaustion

K9 Clif

Vineland Police Department, NJ

EOW: Monday, October 10, 2011

Cause: Struck by vehicle

K9 Trax

Vanderburgh County Sheriff's Department, IN

EOW: Friday, November 4, 2011

Cause: Gunfire (Accidental)

K9 Red

Franklin County Sheriff's Office, VA

EOW: Sunday, November 6, 2011

Cause: Struck by vehicle

K9 Rocky

Niagara County Sheriff's Office, NY

EOW: Sunday, December 4, 2011

Cause: Fall

K9 Maggie

Louisa County Sheriff's Office, VA

EOW: Monday, December 12, 2011

Cause: Animal related

K9 Fargo

Richland County Sheriff's Department, SC

EOW: Friday, December 16, 2011

Cause: Gunfire

K9 Kazoe

Ector County Sheriff's Office, TX

EOW: Friday, December 30, 2011

Cause: Struck by vehicle